Stockholm Book Crawl

I went home to my parents over easter and one day my sister, my best friend and I decided to go on a book crawl in Stockholm. It was a really nice day and it’s something I can really recommend. I will definitely do it again, both in Stockholm and in other cities I come to visit. Our plan was to visit five bookshops:

  • Hedengrens bokhandel in Sturegallerian
  • Sci-fi Bokhandeln in Old Town
  • The English Bookshop in Old Town
  • Hedengrens bokhandel on Götgatan
  • Konst-ig (art bookshop) on Åsögatan

We ended up only visiting the first two and two pocket shops, one on Sergels torg and one on Götgatan. The reason it didn’t go as planned was because we woke up a bit late and it was a Sunday so everything closed at 5 pm. It was still a very nice day and I ended up buying five books, that I’m gonna show you now. These are all very hyped on booktube, a lot of people have been saying a lot of nice things about them so I though I would check them out.

Metamorphosis

Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka: This one is actually not that hyped on booktube but my friend has been nagging me on reading Kafka for ages and I though this was a really pretty edition so I decided to give it a go. This is probably Kafka’s most famous work and it follows a man who wakes up one morning only to discover that he has been transformed into a giant insect. This book is very short and simple but is supposed to be really clever and is one of those books you should have read before you die. It is also on The Rory Gilmore Reading List, a list I want to finish before I die so hopefully i will be able to read this book soon.

burial rites

Burial Rites – Hannah Kent: This is a book that is very hyped. I’ve been intrigued by it because it takes place on Iceland, I’m Swedish so it feels close to home. I also like it because it is historical fiction, and I am studying history at university, AND it follows a woman in 1829 who is supposed to have brutally murdered her master. That is all I know about this book, and it is all I want to know. It sounds really interesting and, as I said, it has been very hyped so I am looking forward to reading this book.

the girl on the train

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins: This is a book I don’t know anything about at all, except everyone seems to love it and it said to be 2015 years Gone Girl. I never read Gone Girl so i figured, this year i will jump on the bandwagon and read “the book everyone should read in 2015”. I also really love the cover, that helped a lot. I have planned to read this in July and hopefully I will love it.

rat queens

Rat Queens vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery – Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch: I have never read a graphic novel in my life. But I have been intrigued to try one and this felt like the right place to start. If I am correctly informed, it is about a couple of kick ass women kicking ass. Which just sounds…awesome. It consists of beautiful artwork, an interesting plot, a lot of kicking ass, and a lot of feminism. What’s not to love?

saga

Saga vol. 1 – Brian K. Vaughn & Fiona Staples: Again, superhyped. This was the graphic novel series that made my consider reading Graphic novels. I don’t know what it is about but everyone seems to love it to death. However, I heard someone say that it might not be the best way to start with graphic novels so I think I will save this until after I’ve read Rat Queens.

That was all I bought, I had a lovely day and I plan to do it again soon. Do you have any recommendations for books (especially graphic novels) that I should check out? Please let me know if you do!

Leave a comment